Mumbai, Jan 5 (PTI) With Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab being cleared to take part in the January 8-9 Indian Premier League players' auction in Bangalore by the Bombay High Court, the fourth season of the cash-rich Twenty20 league in April-May will be a 10-team event.

"The court has given a verdict. How can we stop them?" said Cricket Board sources when contacted after the IPL's Governing Council meeting on Wednesday.
This means IPL IV would comprise 10 teams, including the two new franchises, Kochi and Pune.
Sources also said that the format would be the same as was announced in September before the Board decided to terminate the contracts of RR and KXIP for non-compliance of terms which was challenged in the court by the two franchises.

Full story

Post a Comment